Perseverance

I find Kev again later that evening rummaging through the bin outside Zedadias’ house, and decide that seeing the kind old woman from the park again would do him some good. Her name was Yvette Grisby, and I send Kev over to her house.

At first, Yvette doesn’t want to see him again. Her husband supports her as she talks to him of her embarrassment.

With some perseverance from Kev, however, all is forgiven and he is allowed entrance. He gets himself a bath and a meal, and spends some time telling Yvette all about his worries, but decides it’s time to leave when it starts approaching midnight, the husband’s patience appears to be wearing thin, and the police visit the house.

He gets dressed again, and then spends the night swimming in their pool.

Next: Love

100 Responses to “Perseverance”


  1. 1 Robodude June 19, 2009 at 10:28 am

    did he fall asleep? lol

  2. 4 Robodude June 19, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Hey! they are the big eared couple!!!!

  3. 5 stalin23 June 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

    man, kev is one crazy dude.

  4. 6 Sean Nostin June 19, 2009 at 10:42 am

    In older versions of this game you used to be able to sell the pool ladder, rendering the hapless swimmer no avenue to escape the water or the onset of fatigue, which would inevitably result in the untimely demise of the sim.

    • 7 Frogmaiden June 19, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      Apparently sims can now get out of the pool without a ladder. Not tried to drown anyone in sims3 yet so I dont know firsthand.
      That sounded kinda harsh, but i often started sims2 towns by making a graveyard… and graveyards need graves of dead sims lol. Lucky for my sims3 sims there’s already a graveyard 😛

      • 8 Shelly June 19, 2009 at 6:07 pm

        Haha I didn’t give them a ladder and yes they still got out of the pool so no drowning sims!

      • 9 Dana June 19, 2009 at 9:06 pm

        they can get out without a ladder. But if you x out their “get out of the pool” action, each time they try, then they will drown. The ghost is blue.

      • 10 Jenny June 19, 2009 at 9:37 pm

        I also heard when drowning sims you make a 3 X 3 pool and let them swim in it. Then place walls around the pool and eventually after about 1-2 hours they’ll drown.

      • 11 Rodents210 June 20, 2009 at 2:48 am

        You can make them keep having “breath-holding contests” with other sims while their energy is low, or while they have the “fatigued” moodlet. That drowns them.

      • 12 ♥RAWR♥ June 21, 2009 at 2:56 am

        you drown them by having them, get in the pool and then putting a wall around it>-<

    • 13 Keegan June 19, 2009 at 10:06 pm

      the can get out of the pool without a ladder but if you block any way out of the pool with objects then they cant get out.

    • 15 kk June 20, 2009 at 1:44 am

      The sims like don’t die in this version. I tried to kill one of my kids (just because) so i made four walls- with a door, with an oven and a refrigerator and had one of the adults cook something and leave it in the oven for it and leave it and then once they are out of the box thing i would delete the door and have the kid in there with the fire and they don’t die. the fire eventually burned out and the kid just sat there.

      • 16 Em June 20, 2009 at 4:09 am

        I am assuming, like in the older versions, kids and babies are fire proof.

      • 17 mikekearn June 20, 2009 at 4:33 am

        They can die, they are just much more resistant to death. I think a lot of people didn’t like how easy it was to accidentally have a sim die in the other games, and so made it more difficult for Death to claim them. Old age is still a sure way to go about it, though.

      • 18 Sean Nostin June 20, 2009 at 4:55 am

        Yeah, kk I think the developers did that for the kids in the game on purpose. I remember in sims 2 they didn’t die but social services used to come and take them away.

        The other odd thing from previous games is that only the sims you are controlling age. In sims 2 I was dating this girl and my sim aged to a pensioner and she didn’t age a day. They did have that “fountain of life” gadget you could buy to add days onto your life though which was useful.

        I haven’t played sims 3 yet so I don’t know how this issue has been addressed, though I did hear they’ve left out most of the “magical” items from the previous games.

  5. 19 Casi Nerina June 19, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I’m really enjoying this. Did he get any sleep in the pool?

  6. 20 Jeest June 19, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Funny concept mate 😀

  7. 24 quipu June 19, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Great concept. I’m completely addicted to your blog now.

    Kev’s currently storyline reminds me of “Boudou Saved From Drowning”. Can’t wait to see where this goes…

  8. 25 Putzy Von Putzingburg The Third June 19, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    did he drown or what? Because I’m no scientist, but I think you would die if you fell asleep in a pool.

  9. 27 Kansine June 19, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    I really, really love this blog ❤ It inspired me greatly that I would publish a sims 3 story myself, 'cause I play sims a lot 🙂 My ideas for a story just haven't been good enough yet, at least if you compare with this 😉 And my english is quite crappy too… 😛

  10. 28 clorex June 19, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Does the insane trait allow your Sim to swim in their formal clothes?

  11. 31 spock June 19, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    For food, can’t you just send them to the swimming pool? There’s bound to be some hot dogs or such lying around…

  12. 32 Eric Mill June 19, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    You’re really good at the closing picture. Hilarious.

  13. 33 Jackrabbit June 19, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    The poor man, swimmin’ in da pool. Poor, poor man.

  14. 35 Trousle June 19, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    So, why *did* the police show up? Did you have to do something to make them come or did they just show up on their own?

  15. 37 Livvi June 19, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    That is an epic last shot 😛

    LOVE this story! Must keep reading!!

  16. 38 Leis June 19, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    lmao, I love the idea that at some point, he just decided to strip down to his underwear….THEN decided to exit their house. Absolutely hilarious. Alice may be the heart of the story, but Kev’s antics make him a lot of fun.

  17. 39 Marie June 19, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Hi !
    I just found out about Alice and Kev, which I find a passionnating experiment — and moving, too. Just wondering, you said you started this as an experiment in game theory, what did you mean precisely ? I am an economics students and just finished a master thesis on game theory, so I’m quite interested in the subject 🙂

    • 40 roBurky June 19, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      I’ve never said that. I’m guessing you read that on the crunchgear article, where they misuse the term when adding their own description of the blog.

  18. 41 OctaneHugo June 19, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Kev is great…strips naked, puts his clothes on, exits the house and sleeps in the pool. He’s so subversive. 😛

  19. 42 HAB June 19, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Wow. Did the police show up because the husband called them or because Kev was out past curfew?

  20. 44 Martijn June 19, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    The story was making so much sense, and now Kev spends the night in the pool? How does that work? Leaving the house in your underwear and then getting dressed to jump in the pool is definitely odd.

    Also, did the couple call the cops on Kev, or did the police stop by unexpectedly?

    Part of the fun of this blog was your explanations/interpretations of what happened. Today’s episode is a bit lacking in that department. Although I admit I’m also more interested in what happens to Alice after she collapsed on Anita’s lawn. Please continue that part of the story!

    • 45 Trousle June 19, 2009 at 3:30 pm

      @Martijn: Kev has the Insane trait. Do you really think that anything he does is going to make a lick of sense? 🙂

      • 46 Martijn June 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

        So far it did always manage to make more sense than sleeping under water. His harassing women in the park, mocking Alice, shouting at her in the morning, and doing all sorts of inappropriate things was funny and crazy, and not excessively unreasonable. Sleeping in a pool is something else entirely.

    • 47 Katie June 19, 2009 at 5:04 pm

      Most of that behavior can be attributed to his mean-spirited trait. The swimming in the pool in his formal clothes part is definitely because of the insane trait. One of my insane Sims wore her workout clothes to a wedding, for instance.

      The game describes the insane trait as Sims doing things that don’t make any sense, so I’m not really sure you can give an explanation. Also, I’m pretty sure he’s just swimming in the pool, not sleeping in it.

  21. 48 Mandy June 19, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    this is amazing! I cnt can’t wait to get sims 3! jus 9 more days!!! please blog more than once a day! this is killing me! I check back 100 times a day to see if there’s an update! anyway,keep up the good work!!!

  22. 49 K June 19, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    I’m completely addicted to Alice and Kev’s story! I went out and purchased the Sims 3 last night and have begun my own adventure. Your writing really has a way of capturing people and drawing them in. Keep up the great work!

  23. 50 E. Weiskott June 19, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Kev is off the wall, I’m telling you!

  24. 51 Colton June 19, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    I love this story so much, I read it so much. It’s truly amazing how realistic the game has gotten over the years. I can’t wait to see what happens next! I kind of want to know where people got the idea he slept in the pool. Clearly in the picture he is wide awake, and no where’s did it say he slept underwater..?

  25. 52 jakehh June 19, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    I’ve just read ’em all and I totz love this story 😀

  26. 53 Ray June 19, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I hope kev doesn’t fall asleep… though that would be funny… sort of…

  27. 54 Joelio June 19, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    I’m not a fan of the game, but I love your story. Good job on this.

  28. 55 Denise June 19, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Wow, I just read all your blogs in one sitting. Well the ones pertaining to this story anyway. I must say this is the most compelling story I’ve ever read that is sim-related. I’m a huge sim fanatic as many of you are and I bought the game a while back. But my stories are nowhere near as interesting as yours. Kudos, you’ve managed to make me laugh and want to cry in all in the last 15 minutes. Good work, can’t wait to see what happens next

  29. 56 Liz June 19, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Colton- I’ve been wondering the same thing. I think it was from one of the earlier comments.

  30. 57 m4k2004 June 19, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Poor Kev. I really still feel kind of sorry for him.

  31. 58 sytycd June 19, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    lol why was kev in his underwear???

  32. 61 Stian June 19, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Why do kids in Sims have a curfew anyway? Are they being invaded by the Germans, or have other fascists taken over?

    • 62 Tyna June 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

      Didn’t you ever have a curfew as a kid?

      • 63 Stian June 19, 2009 at 11:26 pm

        Well, sure, mum told me to get inside by midnight, but the police never came picking me up if I stayed out longer, I’d just get a royal scolding when I got back.

    • 64 thaaeroprincess June 20, 2009 at 5:38 am

      Can they still sneak out at night like they did in the Sims2? I remember I always had my teens out late at night, either coming home half asleep in a friend’s car or in handcuffs, lol.

    • 65 Monkey June 21, 2009 at 2:51 am

      Most places (at the least medium to large cities) in the US have curfew laws now for people under 18. When I was in high school in the mid to late 90s, our tiny little town had one. I was pulled over by the cops once when I was 16 and on my way home from a school function that had run very late. The lovely officer insinuated that I was a drug addict, an alcoholic, and cast various other aspersions on my character that were entirely unwarranted, but proceeded to let me go with a warning anyway. The fine for being out past curfew then was in the neighborhood of $300. You’d get a ticket for it and usually they’d hold you at the police station until your parents came to pick you up. Aside from the verbal abuse, I lucked out that night.

  33. 66 SilverFire85 June 19, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    @Martijn It said that Kev spent the night swimming in the pool. Nowhere in there did it say he slept there.

  34. 68 Sarah June 19, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    why is he leaving the house like THAT? it’s kinda inappropriate.

    • 69 You Dontwannaknow June 19, 2009 at 7:01 pm

      He has the trait inappropriate so sometimes he doesn’t wear clothes. That is just one of the many things that makes him Kev.

  35. 70 BrianS June 19, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    You know I have seen way more of Kev in his brown underwear then I care to. Just saying…

  36. 71 Chelsea June 19, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    he feel asleep in there pool? cool

  37. 73 Dryad61 June 19, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I downloaded Alice and Kev to play but I couldn’t bear to see her out there. A kindly couple has taken Alice in but has left Kev to his fate.

  38. 74 kimidoll June 19, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    i can’t wait for kev to get a girlfriend. hahaha

  39. 75 Melanie June 19, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Brilliant. I’ve just found out about this blog and have read it all in one day. I am also a sims player, and really love how independent the sims have become in the 3rd version; although I had no idea how wonderfully unique and independent they were capable of becoming until I read your blog. I admire your ability to stay with this sims family – its clear that you have bonded to these characters, and to watch their lives unfold, with such human-like challanges and sorrows, must be difficult at times.

    Thank you for bringing this story to the rest of us.

  40. 76 SkyWorld June 19, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Who called the police? Or were they stopping by for coffee?

  41. 77 Sketchy June 19, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Haha, Swimming!

  42. 78 Brianna June 19, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Kev is not sleeping in the pool he is just swimming all night. in the sims3 you can’t sleep in the pool, in any sims you can’t sleep in the pool!

  43. 79 Samantha June 20, 2009 at 12:01 am

    To comment on the police…I play TS3 and after someone gets off work they don’t always change into their casual clothes right away. The person that is visiting may not have been a phone call to the police but just a friend who forgot to change. I only mention this since not much was said about it, and they didn’t seem to be after kev.

  44. 80 Veedimples June 20, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Well today was my first time reading this blog/story and i absolutely l-o-v-e it. i am also a sim junky and will enjoy one day publishing/blogging my own story.i spent most of my day trying to finish some work on my computer and decided to find some intertainment.i must admit this was almost better than the movies.(the onky thing that kept from being better was the lack off physical movement). Terrific work!!!!!!!!!!!!

  45. 81 Nicole June 20, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Do you ever send them to the gym to take showers?

  46. 82 addtwo June 20, 2009 at 12:58 am

    I’m so glad you update on a daily basis!

  47. 83 nicole June 20, 2009 at 12:58 am

    I accidently found your blog while searching the net. WoW!! this is a great story.

  48. 84 Carla June 20, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Hello, I’ve been following your story for a few days and just wanted to share how much I liked it. Such a creative idea and you’ve executed it really well. 🙂

  49. 85 wilviden June 20, 2009 at 2:14 am

    How can I add your blog? I am new here, don’t know for sure anything 😦

  50. 86 Hillhome June 20, 2009 at 2:15 am

    Firstly – awesome work.

    Secondly – how the heck do you build a pool!??!

  51. 87 Dman222 June 20, 2009 at 2:27 am

    Green Fart Mushroom… Just saying.

  52. 88 Dman222 June 20, 2009 at 2:28 am

    Green Fart Mushroom… Just saying.

  53. 89 Susan June 20, 2009 at 4:27 am

    I have really enjoyed reading this story. I just started reading it a couple days ago and now I am hooked. I can’t wait to read more of the story. I hope Alice gets to find some happiness someday soon.

  54. 90 mikekearn June 20, 2009 at 4:34 am

    I just read all the way through up to this point, and I have to say, this is fantastic. I love the story so far, and can’t wait to read more. It kind of makes me feel like I’m doing nothing with my sims at all in comparison.

  55. 91 Setari June 20, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Wow. Just wow.

    This is the best thing on the internet… I love Sims 3 as it’s the only Sims game ive played on PC. (I’ve played Sims 2 on my Xbox 360, and played it on PS2 at my best friend’s house, always had a blast co-opping…).

    Im telling all my friends about this site, the ones that like the sims. Its even better than TV!!

  56. 92 Mandy June 20, 2009 at 5:37 am

    I hav luvd sims since I got it 2 yrs ago as an xmas present! its definetley a girls game! I can’t wait till 2morow! I wake up and the first thing I do is check 4 updates! keep up the good work!!!!

  57. 94 Melody Ryan June 20, 2009 at 6:11 am

    I loved the story, you are great at interpretation. It’s funny I found this thread as I had just moved a female sim into a vacant lot next to Bachelor so he’d get a wife and have children. I was having her visit them and she was eating their food and taking baths. They kicked her out a few times but she was becoming friends with them so eventually she’d get to stay over, but he died so she’s now stuck in an empty lot. Maybe I’ll play it out a little like this now.

  58. 95 Payton June 20, 2009 at 7:33 am

    hahaha, this was funny. I love how he is in the pool but with his formal clothes on. Have to love the insane trait. But, I hope to see what happens to Alice, I can already see her father is having a fun time, lol.

  59. 96 MJ June 22, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Is it just me or does Kev look like Dominic Purcell?

  60. 97 Alicia June 25, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    and then spends the night swimming in their pool. – so random and lol

  61. 98 Sam April 18, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    “He gets dressed again, and then spends the night swimming in their pool.” ROTFLOL

  62. 99 Jess May 8, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    LOL! This dude is crazy!!!

  63. 100 meee December 14, 2011 at 4:31 am

    lol too bad he did’nt drown!


Leave a comment




About Me

Hi. I'm roBurky. I make stuff.
Click for more.
© 2009 Robin Burkinshaw