No hugs and no sleep

Alice’s teddy is more than her only possession in the world. It’s the only thing that’s ever hugged her.

As her father dislikes children, he hates sleeping next to her. In the morning, he’s always the first to wake, and he immediately throws a tantrum and wakes up Alice to tell her to leave the room. Alice understandably responds that they’re not in a room, and she doesn’t have anywhere to go. Then they argue, and Kev seems to blame Alice for every possible thing.

As her attempts to nap on the bench at ‘home’ are always interrupted, Alice does her best to skip the bus after school and find somewhere else to sleep. At first, this used to be the bench in the school playground.

Then one day she found the Joy household next door to the school, who invited her in. She immediately climbed into their bed for the best sleep she’s ever had. Her hosts weren’t terribly pleased as she stank by this point, but didn’t try to wake her. I can only assume they took pity on her.

Next: Nobody loves Kev

39 Responses to “No hugs and no sleep”


  1. 1 Dagda June 10, 2009 at 9:13 am

    One post in and this is already soul-wrenching. I’m not sure how much more I can read.

    Who am I kidding, I’m hooked.

  2. 5 Lizard June 10, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Aaarrgh this is horribly sad!! That poor girl…where’s a social worker when you *need* one?!

  3. 8 Bilal June 11, 2009 at 12:13 am

    I’m glad the Joy’s arent heartless

  4. 9 Beta Fish7728 June 11, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Nice series. I like how it’s very well thought out. It has an interesting plot and even though the end of each one isn’t a “cliff hanger,” I’m anxious to read the next one!

  5. 10 Amelia June 12, 2009 at 3:04 am

    Aaaaw, so sad…that Kev’s a meanie!

  6. 11 Idiaggo June 12, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Seriously how is this fun. What has Sims 4 got genocide and watching african kids die.. if you want real life sadness go outside and do something about it, not pretend to care about some homeless characters…

    • 12 Alex June 12, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Woah, dude. First off, this is Sims 3, not Sims 4 and there is no genocide and watching african kids die. This is just harmless fun on a game.

      If you want to do something about the treatment of african children, you can go ahead and do something, not post horrible comments on a game site.

  7. 13 JMBIndy June 12, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Excellent. Heading for the next post.

  8. 14 Kayla June 12, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Oh! This is really good! I love it, can’t wait for more!

  9. 15 Michelle June 12, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Wow…this is so sad. I can’t believe you were able to do this. I actually hope the girl grows up to be better ajusted than the father.

  10. 16 screamqueen June 13, 2009 at 5:45 am

    Really sad. I had a parent almost identical to Kev so it kinda hits home for me.

  11. 17 Angelia June 13, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Now those are truly some kind people … granted, they probably shoulda called social services (if that sort of function had been built into the game). At least she got a good sleep out of it. :O)

  12. 19 Troy June 15, 2009 at 4:55 am

    O_o

    If the difference between ‘real’ and ‘virtual’ humans wasn’t so clear, this would be inhumane.

    But as it is, it’s just very amusing and sad.

  13. 20 Ceissa Desiste June 16, 2009 at 4:46 am

    Wow! This is one of the best Sims stories I have ever read. This is such a touching story of these characters. I can’t wait to read the whole thing. Great Job with the story and coming up with this Sims experiment.

  14. 22 Xenia June 17, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    I feel so sorry for poor Alice.. At least those people would let her sleep there..

  15. 23 bobmckee June 18, 2009 at 3:14 am

    Good Story. I am a social worker that has seen many real stories like this one. I think this is a unique way of raising an important issue in real life. I see it has a novel art form for expression. Looking forward to the next post.

  16. 24 Balls Mahoney June 20, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    This isn’t entertaining or well written. Sad? There’s nothing sad about some made up pixilated homeless kid. What’s sad is that this was actually considered newsworthy.

  17. 27 Jenni June 22, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Aww, that teddy bear part was cuuute&sad, like it was cute but… sad. :[

  18. 28 Rodney June 22, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    First timer Wow

  19. 29 Phenom June 24, 2009 at 5:34 am

    very creative its a good story

  20. 30 LG June 25, 2009 at 2:43 am

    This is kind of sad and sweet – how much of what’s going on do you have control over? I’ve played the first incarnation of the Sims, but nothing after, so I’m afraid I don’t know how much the gameplay has changed.

  21. 31 Alicia June 25, 2009 at 11:28 am

    interesting and so sad 😦 I wondering how it will end.

  22. 32 video game information archive June 28, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Her sleeping at school instead of going home shows real detail by the game’s creator. I can hardly believe how realistic they made the characters’ emotions and actions as result. Makes me wish I had a console capable of handling the game…

  23. 33 GuardianDemon July 20, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Yeah, this may have no effect in my emotion, but I think it’s cool how something like this can be imagined from a game. T_T

  24. 34 Shannon August 16, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    It’s very emotional and creative and just goes to show that things like this happen in real life too.
    The joys aren’t all heart: look at poor Jenny Joy. She shouldn’t have died yet they let her 😦

  25. 35 Wow January 5, 2010 at 2:19 am

    It’s a little ridiculous how seriously some people are taking this haha
    I really like this concept though 🙂

  26. 36 chuckandalex August 25, 2010 at 3:07 am

    I’m starting another homeless sim story, I’m sure it won’t come close to this, but it can’t hurt to try.

    Just imagine that Kev is now Chuck
    and Alice is now Alex

    Obviously, I took the idea from here. It is the ultimate source of my inspiration.

  27. 37 eric March 23, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    cool idea but did you have to break it up into so many posts?? Most people can handle loading a long page and breaking it up encorages people to not finish it. I know you get more hits and therefore add revenue from breaking it up but somehow its more important that i view your awesome free content in a slightly more convient manner than it is for you to pay rent. Hmmm well go ahead and ignore most of this message! Neat story!

  28. 38 zimmya August 25, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Hi there! I’m sorry I’ve come from knowhere, but I love this story! I searched “sims 3 story” on google and this was the first thing that came up!

  29. 39 selahgio September 6, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Awh just speechless… You are an amazing writer. :3 you have got me hooked…


Leave a comment




About Me

Hi. I'm roBurky. I make stuff.
Click for more.
© 2009 Robin Burkinshaw