Hello!

Welcome to the tale of Alice and Kev.

This is an experiment in playing a homeless family in The Sims 3. I created two Sims, moved them in to a place made to look like an abandoned park, removed all of their remaining money, and then attempted to help them survive without taking any of the game’s unrealistically easy cash routes. It was inspired by the old ‘poverty challenge’ idea from players of The Sims 2, but it turned out to be a lot more interesting with The Sims 3’s new living neighborhood features.

I have attempted to tell my experiences with the minimum of embellishment. Everything I describe in here is something that happened in the game. What’s more, a surprising amount of the interesting things in this story were generated by just letting go and watching the Sims’ free will and personality traits take over.

If this is your first time visiting, click below to read the story from the start.

Go to the beginning

83 Responses to “Hello!”


  1. 1 xSasha January 6, 2010 at 6:58 am

    http://xsasha.wordpress.com/ I just finished my version. I gave you credit and everything, I think you’ll enjoy it (:

  2. 2 leeandtori February 23, 2010 at 6:12 am

    I have a blog like this too, but it involves totally different people and more stories with different characters! I love this blog, too, by the way. :]

    But here’s mine! Come and read. :]
    http://simcomix.wordpress.com/

  3. 3 Gledwood February 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    This looks really interesting, but I’ve not the time to read all you put as I’m in an internet caff and about to be terminated for lack of more dollars!! What I’ll do instead is put a link to you from my blog post today, which was about the Sims.

    Now I only play Sims 3 on my mobile phone… so I take it the PC version you’re on about is slightly more involved than the repeated round of rushing to the toilet, snogging (or speaking to) other sims, desperately reading books/watching television and trying to spend as much time as possible fishing to get time to go faster… that I engage in…?!??!??

    Even so, it is far too addictive for words.

    And ps I play it in GERMAN ~ trying to be educational as I go, know what I mean..>??!?

  4. 4 mich April 7, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Recently discovered this blog and found it a fascinating of humans and video games, stretching the possibilities of both. I’ll most likely showcase it in one of my next posts.
    Great job!

  5. 5 William July 5, 2010 at 3:29 am

    I’m not going to lie this makes me want to go buy the Sims 3 haha

  6. 6 David August 20, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    You should make some sim cops to harass them.


Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi. I'm roBurky. I make stuff.
Click for more.
© 2009 Robin Burkinshaw

