Exhaustion

After that hard day, Alice wanted to sleep in a bed tonight. But it was getting close to curfew. The only way she would be able to get into a bed and stay there for a full night would be if she was invited to, rather than merely taking one without permission.

Zedadias wasn’t home, so she couldn’t go there. Instead, she went back to Anita’s, and her school friend was happy to invite her back inside. Alice begs Anita to let her stay for the night as well.

But she says no. Anita’s a ‘loner’, and she just doesn’t know Alice well enough to be comfortable with that. Alice looks crestfallen.

Anita goes back inside to watch TV with her family. Alice starts to follow, but then stumbles, closes her eyes for a moment, and drops backwards onto the hard ground.

The sad form lying outside their open front door goes entirely unnoticed.

Next: Shoulder

131 Responses to “Exhaustion”


  1. 1 been there June 18, 2009 at 10:26 am

    I was homeless for years, and, uh, this isn’t really very realistic. (Of course not, it’s just a video game, right?) And the way “normal people” reading this blog have been getting their vicarious dramatic jollies from the mundane problems of a couple of only slightly unusual people is kinda creepy.

    • 2 I agree January 5, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      I’ve never even been close to homeless, but it’s pretty weird how people have so much “compassion” for a pair of fictional characters, but I’m sure a lot of them have completely ignored actual people who are homeless.

  2. 3 Snoweh June 18, 2009 at 10:44 am

    This blog is awesome, I found it via Boing Boing, keep up the good work!.

    After reading thru I noticed there was one free food source you weren’t exploiting! In center park there are picnic baskets laid out on the grass where your sim can eat till she’s stuffed.

    Also if you can get her to get a point in gardening (from someone else’s bookshelf? from the library?) a tomato, apple and lettuce seed will appear in her inventory which she can plant on her lot and grow for food. Reading this has given me ideas about where to go next with my sims, Thankyou for all the work & I look forward to reading more!

  3. 4 Christopher June 18, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    I wonder if EA Play is taking note of this experiment? Beyond being a great read, it suggests some fine tuning, that the Appropriateness is rarely countered by compassion and pity.

    Actually, that happened with Kev, I suppose… but why doesn’t it ever seem to happen to Alice when she’s being rejected? The best she can hope for is the person or family not knowing what to do about her and leaving her where she lies.

  4. 5 Deryk June 18, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    Hi Robin and all!

    I’ve been tracking this story since I saw it the first day on TS3 launcher News Feed! Wow, what an amazing story done with a brilliant game. You’re to be commended Robin. I downloaded your lot and Kev and Alice (btw EA has it as “Kev and Alex” *chuckle*). Mine turned out quite different. Some things were the same, like Kev waking up after a nap and wanting to shoo Alice away. How sad and what a bum!

    As he was walking through town he was kicking every garbage can over and rummaging through others. He was thoroughly disgusted by this activity however. He joined the Criminal career track but made a lousy thief! Seems his constant bad mood didn’t even make him a good thief!

    Poor Alice, by day she hung around the park to make friends and have fun. It was also a good place for her to be able to relieve herself, and take a shower at the pool across the street. But sleep deprivation kept getting the best of the poor thing. She did meet the youngest Landgraab son, and they became friends.

    That’s where I left it to get back to my regularly-scheduled Sim family.

    Very well done again Robin. Look forward to more!

    Regards, Deryk

    PS: I wanted to cry when she fell asleep on her friends sidewalk, and no one in the world cared, except most of us Simmers!

  5. 6 sorry June 19, 2009 at 12:24 am

    > Appropriateness is rarely countered by compassion and pity.

    That’s just realistic.

  6. 7 Caroline June 19, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    I have been reading all of your posts from the beginning until this one in one sitting. Now I have settled down with coffee and a snack to finish the rest and THEN start my own Sims (just got the game today.) I wish I could download Zedadias! I think I will keep reading until a) Alice grows up and marries Zedadias or b) my hopes are dashed completely. Either way I want Alice to have a happy ending! (I don’t care so much about Kev, hope he’s having a nice time with his ghost friend, though.)

  7. 8 Wilted June 22, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    The last picture is just utterly heartbreaking.

  8. 9 sanela June 24, 2009 at 3:56 am

    simply amazing

  9. 10 Moondog June 25, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Noticed how Anita looks like Susan Boyle?

  10. 12 Unicornmaster June 27, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Poor Alice…
    ;__;

  11. 13 Azalea_Sway June 30, 2009 at 6:05 am

    I feel so bad for her! Everyone’s turning her down! If I was a sim, I’d even take her in as my daughter! 😮

  12. 14 cartoonfansparadise August 8, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    poor alice !!!!!!

  13. 15 Kara May 19, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I feel bad for certain characters from stories like this, but I also feel the same way for real people too., I’m sure others on here feel the same way. Just because we are expressing a lot of emotion for made up people, it does not mean we are heartless when it comes to real homeless.

    *annoyed*


Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi. I'm roBurky. I make stuff.
Click for more.
© 2009 Robin Burkinshaw

